Driving when you already know that your driver´s license has been revoked or suspended, is a crime. You could be guilty of driving with a suspended license if your license was revoked for many reasons such as being declared a negligent operator for several points in your license, a mental or physical disability or a conviction for (DUI). The penalties for driving on a suspended license will depend on what these reasons are. If you are convicted of driving with a suspended license, and you can´t afford the full amount of money required to get out of jail or avoid imprisonment, angelsbailbonds.com is the best option for you.
Here are some of the different reasons for license suspension:
- License suspended for specific offenses: California vehicle code forbids you from driving a car, motorcycle or any other vehicle when you know that your license was revoked due to reckless driving, alcohol or drug abuse, a mental condition or for being an incompetent operator.
- License suspended for general offenses: This refers to driving with the actual knowledge that your license was revoked and you did it anyways.
- License revoked for DUI: Knowing that your license was revoked due to DUI charges is one of the most serious of the vehicle code violations. The crime of driving with a suspended license because of DUI covers driving under the influence, driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.8 or more, driving under the influence of drugs and driving under the influence causing great bodily injury.
Driving with a suspended license is always a misdemeanor offense, that means that the potential consequences include a fine, jail time but not imprisonment in a California state prison. However, the exact penalties, punishments, and sentencing for driving with a revoked license will depend on:
- The reason why your license was revoked
- Whether you suffered prior convictions for driving with a revoked license
- Your driving story
Penalties for driving with a suspended or revoked license
- License revoked for specific offenses: five to six months in a county jail and a fine of $300 to $1000.
- License suspended for general reasons: Up to six months in a county jail and a $300 to $1000 fine.
- License revoked for driving under the influence: Ten days to six months in a county jail and a fine of $300 to $1000.
- Habitual traffic offenders while license is suspended: 30 days in a county jail and a $1000 fine.
- License suspended for chemical test refusal and other DUI-related offenses: Up to six months in a county jail and a $300 to $1000 fine.
You may think that driving with a suspended license is not a big deal, but even though is considered as a misdemeanor it is a serious offense. Suspensions are particularly for drivers who are persistent violators, who have amassed a significant number of points against their license and who have committed a felony using their vehicle. This video explains in detail how does driving with a suspended license work and the penalties depending if it is a first, second or third-degree offense.